Squire’s Loft

I had decided that I wanted steak for dinner tonight. So I did the research to find a place local that wasn’t grossly priced and organised for us to go there for dinner. The fact that it only took 6 minutes to walk there was a bonus.

We all ordered eye fillet steak with a baked potato (choice being fries, baked potato or salad) and I ordered a salad for the table too. We ordered a bottle of Shiraz (Barossa Valley of course). Having read the menu which clearly stated a totally different selection of choices re the “redness” of the steak to what I would have expected (and enjoyed), Bill who always goes “blue” at home, ordered medium rare. At his suggestion, I read the instructions, and I too ordered medium rare (I usually order rare). But the menu suggested the “blue” would be cold, and the “rare” (which is what I usually order) would be luke warm.

The steak was magnificent. Whist I would have preferred more blood, the steak was still tender and juicy. We all agreed that it was a fabulous steak. The wait staff were attentive.

Barbara’s baked potato was hard when it arrived on her plate. It was quickly taken away and replaced with a new one that was perfectly cooked. The service was excellent.

The only downside for us was the fact that Barbara and I had categorically said we did not want tap water. The water here is drinkable, but the overtone of chlorine for Barbara who is on well water, and even for me, is too much. I tried drinking water from the tap on the first day, and then made a dash for the water section of the supermarket (which we’ve visited multiple times since). So when we were offered tap water, we had no thank you and asked for bottled water. The water that arrived at the table was not in a bottle and I suspect had never been near a bottle. I could smell the chlorine.

Still if that’s all we have to complain about that, then we need to get over ourselves.

Service: 4.5/5 Food: 5/5 Ambience: 4/5 Total 13.5/15

One Comment Add yours

  1. Great post 🌹🌹

    Like

Leave a comment